NAREA Twitter Feed

Annual Meeting



Constitution & Bylaws

Outstanding Public Service through Economics Award 2014

NAREA has an annual Award for Outstanding Public Service through Economics. This award honors and recognizes economists who have applied agricultural, environmental, consumer, resource, or community development economics in a unique way that has contributed toward solving an important problem and improving the welfare of society.

Al McGartland, Director of US EPA's National Center for Environmental Economics
Josh Duke and Doug Morris presenting Julie Caswell with the 2014 Award for Outstanding Public Service through Economics

The 2014 Award for Outstanding Public Service through Economics was awarded to Julie Caswell, Professor, University of Massachusetts Amherst. Here are excerpts from the nomination letter:

Dr. Caswell is an exceptional researcher and is making outstanding service contributions through the application and extension of her research to national and international policy decision-making. Dr. Caswell is internationally known for her research on the economics of food safety and nutrition. In 2011, her research contributions were recognized when she was named a Fellow of the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA), the premier U.S. and international applied economics professional organization. The Fellow award was made based on Professor Caswell’s research discoveries, which are building blocks of our knowledge of the economics of food quality, particularly in the areas of food labeling, food safety, the impacts of sanitary and phytosanitary regulations on international trade, and risk-based food safety regulation.

Dr. Caswell was a Fulbright Scholar to the University of Tuscia in 2009. Her work has also been recognized by the number of times she has applied her research discoveries in work with U.S. government agencies (e.g., U.S. Food and Drug Administration, U.S. Department of Agriculture), other governments (United Kingdom Food Standards Agency), and international bodies (e.g., O.E.C.D. and the Food and Agriculture Organization).

 Her service contributions are exceptional, earning national and international recognition in public and professional service. In public service, Dr. Caswell served on four National Academies committees that delivered major policy reports on dioxins in food, benefits and costs of seafood consumption, Food and Drug Administration’s use of risk-based approaches to food safety, and the public release of meat plant inspection data by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. She chaired a National Academies committee that reviewed the adequacy of benefit allotments under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program and published their findings in 2013. She is also a member of the National Academies, National Research Council, Standing Committee for the Review of Food Safety and Defense Risk Assessments, Analyses, and Data. In professional service, Dr. Caswell was honored in 2012 for her longstanding record of leadership in the profession of applied economics when she was elected President of the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association, the leading national and international organization in her field." Daniel Lass – Professor, University of Massachusetts Amherst, and Past President of NAREA.

Previous recipients include:

2002 Bruce Gardner
2003 Adesoji Adelaja
2004 Paul Portney
2005 Sandra Batie
2006 Thomas Johnson
2007 Nelson Bills
2008 Walter Armbruster
2009 James Horne
2010 Tom Tietenberg
2011 Ronald W. Cotterill
2012 Katherine "Kitty" Smith
2013 Al McGartland
2014 Julie Caswell
2015 Stephan Goetz
2016 David Just
2017 Dallas Butraw